North Carolina  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/03/09, 1:38 pm

Legal Question


Do you need to get permission to use a company's name in a book, whether presently existing or existing in the past (ex: Coca-Cola, Roadway Express)? If so, who needs to sign the release?


question bubble
11/15/09, 1:26 am

Legal Answer


You can say a company's name in a sentence. "I like to eat at McDonald's" written in a book is just fine. Other uses of the name could be either questionable or impermissible. Many more facts would be needed to form an opinion. I suggest you go see an attorney in your area who is familiar with business and trademark law.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search