Legal Question in Employment Law in North Carolina

I have a felony charge (non-violent) on my record from 2006. It is the only charge on my criminal record, and as such, I was able to defer prosecution. I've been told that when asked if I have any criminal convictions on a job application, I may legally state "no". When prospective employers check my background, however, the charge shows up, making it appear that I was being dishonest. Can I legally be denied a job based on a charge only?

Asked on 8/18/13, 9:47 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Unfortunately, an employer can deny employment based on charges. You can explain the situation and explain that you were not convicted.

Read more
8/18/13, 7:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8806 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now