Legal Question in Employment Law in North Carolina

I was fired yesterday because when I got my check I was told that child support to my whole check and when I told them that by law they could only take 40 percent of my pay they payed me cash minus 40 percent and then fired me and I wanted to know if I could sue

Asked on 11/13/13, 5:29 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Unfortunately, no. You can be fired for any reason other than discrimination and retaliation. Unfortunately, while this was in bad taste...it is legal.

Read more
Answered on 11/13/13, 1:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now