Legal Question in Employment Law in North Carolina

I was terminated from a NC State government position because I was said to have left the building multiple times, for multiple hours on several occasions. This was absolutely not true. I asked for proof from my employer and they said someone told them. I asked if they checked the security tape for both entrances/exits. They said yes and they were not able to find any footage of me leaving. I applied for unemployment and the State denied it. I appealed and won. The unemployment office specifically said all charges the State presented were found to be untrue and without validity. I do understand NC is an at-will employment state. However, it should be unlawful for an employer to discharge an employee based on hearsay, lies, slander, libel, etc. Should I seek the help of an attorney?

Asked on 11/05/13, 4:23 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, there is no such claim in NC. Your best bet is to look for new employment and move on with the pride that you were right and they were wring.

Read more
11/05/13, 4:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8807 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now