Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in North Carolina

I am renting a house where the air conditioner has been broken since June 3, 2010. I informed the owner on that day. She has came out to look into the unit and had a maintence worker with her, whom stated the compressor has to be replaced. But as of today June 14, the unit has not been fixed. I have not paid the rent due to unable to stay in the house (I have a dog) due to the weather conditions (heat) the past few weeks. Am I wrong for withholding rent until the unit is replaced? I have been staying with friends until the house is liveable.

Asked on 6/14/10, 4:29 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jeff Rosner Rosner Law Firm P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The tenant may not unilaterally withhold rent prior to a judicial determination of a right to do so. You should seek legal advice but witholding rent could subject you to an eviction.

Read more
Answered on 6/15/10, 4:05 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now