Legal Question in Real Estate Law in North Carolina

I have accepted a written offer on a piece of realestate I am selling. We have not had the official closing yet. What are the legal repercussions the buyer may have if I back out now. I have received a higher offer today.

Asked on 10/21/13, 9:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Depending on how the offer is written, the buyer can sue you either for return of the earnest money or specific performance.

Read more
10/21/13, 9:50 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now