North Carolina | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
We closed an a mortgage on 8/7/09. Recently my parents (previous mortgagee) started receiving forclosure notices from the previous mortgage & were told by them that they were never paid off.
After 2+ weeks of countless phone calls, being lied to and avoided, my mortgage company admitted their "mistake" (I think they did this on purpose) they wired the money for the payoff.
My question is: Do I have any recourse for the time spent resolving this, for the stress involved and to let them know they can't get away with this scott-free?
Thank you


