Legal Question in Real Estate Law in North Carolina

I have a house in NC that is 30k upside down and have been renting it for 9 years because it won't sell. I also own a smaller home that I reside in. If the property thats being rented were to go to forclosure, can the lender seiz my other assests to recover thier loss? I'm trying to confirm that the financial affect to me will be limited to an icome tax bill for the forgiven dept and ruined credit score. Could the lender try to take the home I reside in or any other assets?

Asked on 9/17/13, 8:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You should consult a debt relief or bankruptcy attorney. The attorney will need to review your entire financial picture to tell you what is and is not safe.

Read more
Answered on 9/17/13, 8:56 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in North Carolina


Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now