Legal Question in Real Estate Law in North Carolina

I lived in a house for 2 years, the lease is up. Is 2 weeks notice sufficient?

Asked on 9/17/13, 12:15 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Read the lease. Two weeks may or may not be sufficient depending on if the lease was a yearly lease or not. If this was a 1-year lease and you were a holdover tenant on a month-to-month, then at least 7 days' notice is required unless your lease provides for a longer time. Most leases require notice to be given 30-60 days prior to lease end.

Exception would be for military situations where a soldier is given orders to report to a new duty station. Or perhaps a domestic violence situation.

I have set forth the statute below for you; read your lease, then read the statute and see.

42-14. Notice to quit in certain tenancies.

A tenancy from year to year may be terminated by a notice to quit given one month or more before the end of the current year of the tenancy; a tenancy from month to month by a like notice of seven days; a tenancy from week to week, of two days. Provided, however, where the tenancy involves only the rental of a space for a manufactured home as defined in G.S. 143-143.9(6), a notice to quit must be given at least 60 days before the end of the current rental period, regardless of the term of the tenancy.

Read more
Answered on 9/17/13, 5:55 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in North Carolina