Legal Question in Real Estate Law in North Carolina

if u have a loan at a finance company for 3000.00 dollars for a car but do not have the car anymore and only paid 1000.00 on loan can they put u in jail

Asked on 3/07/13, 6:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

North Carolina does not have debtor's jail. You can only be jailed if you committ a crime under the penal code, such as intentionally destroying the vehicle or obtaining property by false pretenses.

Read more
3/07/13, 7:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now