Legal Question in Traffic Law in North Carolina

I sold my car on Sunday morning to someone through craiglist. The person said that he will drop my number plate to DMV while registering this car on Tuesday. He made a sale deed but it wasn't notarized. I wasn't aware of the process and hence gave him car with my number plate on it. On Tuesday I called him to confirm that did he return my number plate, to my surprise he said that car was totaled in an accident on Sunday evening. Now he says that I will get my number plate after car comes back from insurance agency. Please suggest me what should I do.

Asked on 7/17/13, 6:32 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Go to your local license place office and tell them that you sold the car, and that the new owner was going to transfer the plates but that the car was lost and that you want to cancel the plates.

Read more
7/18/13, 9:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8806 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now