North Carolina  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/24/09, 11:18 pm

Legal Question


My father died purchased a home in NC in 2007 and died the same year in NC. He lived in the home with me. My name was on the deed with his. His wife, my mother lives in VA and has been mentally ill for years. She was deemed incapacitated and has a conservator. I have been paying the mortgage on the home since it was purchased and recently had financial hardship and the home went into foreclosure. However, I was able to pay the back amount and the mortgage company is now allowing me to assume the loan. But it is taking longer than I expected to have the home titled in my name. In talking with my fathers estate attorney, he has advised me that my mother or her conservator can sign the papers to have the property titled to me. There is NO Equity in the home at all! Do I have any other options?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search