North Carolina | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My husband and I have a mutual fund account held jointly with rights of survivorship. If we both died simultaneously, we wanted to have our minor child listed as the TOD. My investment company told me that you can not list a TOD on a joint account - I was told the account would be distributed based on our will.
The attorney that drew up our will told us that mutual funds do not pass through the will but are based on contract and that we could add our child as a TOD on the mutual fund. We live in NC. How do we resolve this?
Thank you.
Top Areas of Law


