North Dakota | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Hello,
Thank you for your time. I play in a Rock Band. I am inquiring about the law in regards to using and or trademarking our Band name. We sell T-shirts and Cd's with our name on it. We are not yet a "signed with a record label" group. We are an Indie group. We have discovered over time through the internet that there are some other bands out there using the same name as us. Can we trademark the band name if it has not been trademarked yet and make the other bands stop using the name? We play in various states and eventually our goal is to play nationally. We don't want confusion for our fans in knowing which band is us online and such. How do we find out about trademarking and checking the trademarks? Can this even be done. Any advice would be very helpful.


