Ohio  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
3/03/04, 1:43 pm

Legal Question


Bankruptcy without lawyer

My Daughter needs to strat over with a bankruptcy. When she was 19 and 20 she had accidents without insurance. No injuries, in fact each was at less than 20 mph. But she can't pay what the lawyers who got involved are charging, totalling over 18,000 together. She is a new mother and wants to finish school to be a teacher. this seems to be the only option as the lawyers are not helping. She or I cannot afford lawyer fees.

Can she do it on her own?


question bubble
3/03/04, 1:56 pm

Legal Answer


Re: Bankruptcy without lawyer

Your daughter sounds like a prime candidate for bankruptcy. Yes, it is possible for someone to file their own bankruptcy, but this can be complicated and the risks are high, since an individual is likely to miss something crucial to getting the maximum benefit of filing the bankruptcy. Compared with the potential debt she is facing, the attorney's fees for a bankruptcy can be extremely reasonable. If you would like to discuss this further in a no - cost consultation, feel free to contact me at my Cincinnati number, 513-621-2201.

Steven Schiller

Steven L. Schiller, Attorney at Law 4 West Fourth St., Suite 200 Newport Ky (& Cincinnati Oh), KY 41071

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search