Ohio  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
12/06/04, 1:39 am

Legal Question


Ch 13 to 7 in another state

About 2 yrs ago I filed a Ch 13 while living in another state. I now want to convert it to a 7. Can I include things on the 7 petition that I incurred while in the 13? Such a a credit card and some payday loans? Also, if I reaffirm on my car, do I have to go by the terms they give or can I specify?


question bubble
12/06/04, 10:04 am

Legal Answer


Re: Ch 13 to 7 in another state

As long as your chapter 13 wasn't a converted chapter 7, you have the right to convert to chapter 7 at any time. Any new debts you accrued up to the time of the conversion can be included in the chapter 7. You may be able to redeem your car for its actual value, instead of paying the full loan amount. There are lenders who specialize in loaning money for this purpose if you were unable to come up with the cash value. If you have any questions, feel free to call me at 513-621-2201 (Cincinnati office).

Steven Schiller

Steven L. Schiller, Attorney at Law 4 West Fourth St., Suite 200 Newport Ky (& Cincinnati Oh), KY 41071

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search