Ohio  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
2/20/04, 10:24 am

Legal Question


filing chapter 7 during divorce

My husband and I are in the process of getting a divorce, that will not be final for at least a couple of months. Neither of us can afford the accumulated debt on our own and are considering chapter 7. Would we still be allowed to file a joint chapter 7 since we are still technically married?


question bubble
2/20/04, 8:38 pm

Legal Answer


Re: filing chapter 7 during divorce

Yes; as long as you are still married, you are eligible to file a joint bankruptcy petition. This will save the cost and trouble of two separate filings after the divorce, and will even simplify the divorce, since there will be fewer issues regarding debt responsibility to be decided in the divorce. If you have any further questions, feel free to contact me at 513-621-2201 (Cincinnati office) or 859-261-6811 (Ky. office)

Steven Schiller

Steven L. Schiller, Attorney at Law 4 West Fourth St., Suite 200 Newport Ky (& Cincinnati Oh), KY 41071

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search