Ohio | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Harrassment by Creditor After Chapter 7
We recently filed Chapter 7 just a few weeks ago. The creditor in which we had a van payment came and took the van away from us. They continue to harrass us with certified mailings. The one letter states that they are going to sell
the van at an public sale. They say that if they get less money than owed then we still owe the difference to the extent of the obligation that is not discharged and that the law allows this. So what are we supposed to do since I can not
pay for the van? That is why we filed bankruptcy because I am working part time due to a doctors recommendation. Also I am tired of going to the post office to sign for certified mail
for this van payment creditor. I thought when you filed bankruptcy that would stop the harrassment and threat letters. What am I supposed to do? I How can they send me letters stating I am going to owe them money and maybe garnish my wages since we filed bankruptcy? Can I also stop going to the post office to pick up their certified threat letters? The discharge on the bankruptcy will be in about 5 weeks.


