Ohio  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
11/15/09, 4:56 pm

Legal Question


My home is currently in a foreclosure state but we are working with the mortgage co.to work out a solution. We have some many bills that we cant keep up with everything. We would like t file bankruptcy but we dont wanna lose our house. How do we go about doing this?


question bubble
11/20/09, 5:24 pm

Legal Answer


You can file a Chapter 13 bankruptcy and stop the foreclosure. Under your Chapter 13 plan, you would pay down your arrearage, your secured debts and a portion of your unsecured obligations. If you are unable to put together a feasible plan, you may have to consider filing under Chapter 7 and see if your home lender will work with you on addressing your arrearage.

Good luck.

David Michael Benson

Benson Law Firm 1422 Euclid Avenue, Suite 1672 Cleveland, OH 44115

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search