Ohio | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
how long is it before you can file bankruptcy again
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Michael Benson |
If you filed and received a discharge in a prior chapter 7 case, you have to wait 8 years after the prior filing before you can file another chapter 7 case. If you filed and received a discharge from the bankruptcy court in a prior chapter 13 case, then the time limit depends on what percentage of your unsecured debt you repaid in your prior chapter 13. It could be anywhere from 0-6 years.
If you filed and received a discharge in a prior chapter 7 case, you are eligible to file a chapter 13 case at any time. However, if you file a chapter 13 case within 4 years of the date you filed the prior case, you will not receive a discharge. Hope that helps.
For a more detailed explanation, feel free to call me at 216-241-2510. |
Top Attorneys in OH
Frank J. Rozanc, Esq.
Eastlake, OH
Questions Answered: 1023
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-08
Attorney at Law
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-08
Benson Law Firm
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 218
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
Law Office of Lisa K. Meier
Columbus, OH
Questions Answered: 80
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Offices of Simon W. Johnson
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 74
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-25
Berry, Kessler, Crutchfield and Taylor
Moundsville, WV
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-20
Attorney at Law
Columbus, OH
Questions Answered: 59
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-01-15
Roderick Linton Belfance LLP
Akron, OH
Questions Answered: 46
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-02-20
Steven L. Schiller, Attorney at Law
Newport Ky (& Cincinnati Oh), KY
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-04
Law Office of Frank X. Gresley, LLC
Parma, OH
Questions Answered: 26
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-14
Search Questions and Answers


