Ohio  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
1/27/05, 2:01 pm

Legal Question


marriage and bankruptcy

If I file bankruptcy do I have to include my husband's income when filing if he is not also filing. Also he receives only worker's compensation how would that affect anything?


question bubble
1/27/05, 3:51 pm

Legal Answer


Re: marriage and bankruptcy

In the Cincinnati district where you live, married parties must disclose joint income and expense information, so the court can determine whether your income warrants requiring you to pay over some money in a chapter 13 plan. However, this does not affect your husband's credit in any way: it is only for budgetary information. If you would like to discuss in more detail, feel free to contact me at 513-621-2201 (Cincinnati number).

Steven Schiller

Steven L. Schiller, Attorney at Law 4 West Fourth St., Suite 200 Newport Ky (& Cincinnati Oh), KY 41071

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search