Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Ohio

I am considering taking early retirement at 62. In order to do this, I will have to file a Chapter 7 bankruptcy to get rid of my debt. I currently own a home, however, I am "underwater" in equity. My question is: can my creditors go after my monthly Social Security income? This will be my only source of income. I have no 401K and a very minimal amount in savings ($3-4,000).

Asked on 1/17/10, 9:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Michael Benson Benson Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Generally speaking, most creditors cannot reach your SSI. However, a creditor may be able to garnish an account if you mix your SSI with something else.

Read more
1/22/10, 11:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Ohio

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now