Ohio  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/09/09, 11:30 am

Legal Question


Hello. I am a manager for a local company in Columbus Ohio. Most of the people who work for us are independent contractors. They all signed a contract agreeing to what they would be paid. No where on the contract does it say we can change their pay. However the Big Wigs at the company are cutting their pay. Is this legal?


question bubble
11/14/09, 12:21 pm

Legal Answer


Dear Inquirer: Based on your representation that the contract is specific in its tyerms as to payment to each independent contractor, the :Big Wigs" as you call them, may not breach their contract and decrease payment to the independent contractors.

However, you would be weel advised to seek the advice and review of experienced legal counsel, because the words and phrases in the cotract documents are extremenly important in such decision.

Good luck. Sincerely, J. Norman Stark.

J. Norman Stark

J. Norman Stark , Attorney, Architect 17000 St. Clair Aveue Cleveland, OH 44110-2535

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search