Ohio | DUI Law
Legal Question
Ovi
On Jan 1 I was stopped for stopping at a yellow caution light and turning right, there was a State Trooper at the intersection - his front tires were in the crosswalk - I stopped checked the intersection turned right , he did a u-turn and followed me fro 2.5 blocks I didnot drive left of center miss a stop sign or not signal a left turn. The trooper turned on his lights and I pulled into a parking lot. He asked for my license ect. I complied - I asked what I did? He replied stopped at a yellow light. Then proceeded with the DUI - I refused.
I was charged with a OVI but no traffic violation. My question is how can I be stopped for something and not be charged? The trooper never mentioned after the stop anything more about the traffic violation. Is stopping at a yellow light a legit violation? I was always told to proceed with caution at a yellow light. As I stated his front tires were in the crosswalk - isn't that considered entering the intersection? Wouldn't it be logical to proceed at that point with caution? I really would apreciate any input on this, as I am facing a year suspension.


