Legal Question in Family Law in Ohio

commonlaw marriage in ohio

I am living with a guy. He used to be with another woman for several years. They lived together and have kids together.

As of 1990 or 1991 the state of Ohio no longer recognizes common law marriage. Him and I have been together for over 3 1/2 years and have a little boy. She keeps telling him that him and I cannot get married because they are common law married. She says that since they were together x amount of years prior to common law marriage being done away with, they ARE common law married.

ARE THEY? OR AREN'T THEY? THAT IS THE QUESTION!

THANK YOU,

Asked on 3/17/09, 11:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nancy Fioritto Patete Nancy Fioritto Patete, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: commonlaw marriage in ohio

Ohio no longer recognizes common law marriage.

Read more
3/17/09, 10:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Ohio

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8806 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now