Ohio  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 11:38 pm

Legal Question


I had a son with my ex fiance. Since we weren't married, I did sign a Voluntary Acknowledgement of Paternity. She and I broke up and she disappeared with my son when he was 2. She has been missing for almost 3 years. I recently found her and asked to see my son and she told me no and I had no rights. The thing is, I KNOW I signed a paper at the hospital stating that since I was the sole provider of the family and we WERE living together, we should have shared parenting. I signed the paper with the Paternity Affidavit. It had a lot of boxes on it to check. It was given to me by the representative of the hospital. I REALLY need to know the name of that paper so I can get better rights. Do you know of ANY ideas of what that paper could have been. I REALLY need help.


question bubble
11/19/09, 11:26 am

Legal Answer


The paper is a parenting affadavit and should be at the hospital. However, it is only a presumption of parentage and you should go to court to determine paternity, set support and also establish Court ordered visitation. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss. Ed DiCato

Edward DiCato

Edward DiCato Attorney at Law PO Box 550 Green, OH 44232

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search