Ohio  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 3:40 pm

Legal Question


I am engaged to an illegal immigrant from Honduras. He came illegally about 5 years ago, has never been in trouble with the law and holds a steady job. We are expecting our first child in January and we would like to be married. Marriage licenses here require a SSN, however he doesn't have one. We are scared that he could be deported or sent back to Honduras if we file for citizenship after marrying. He doesn't want to leave me or my son and our baby and it would be extremely hard for me financially if he were gone. Is there a way to marry legally, but in a way that he would not have to leave the US and keep his job? If he goes back to Honduras, he may not be able to come back because of the problems with the government.


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search