Ohio | Insurance Law
Legal Question
rear ended and insurance settlement
My son and I were rear ended by another driver. I have accumulated appr. $75000 in medical. The resulting nerve impingement, in my neck and shoulders, appears to be lifelong requiring continued treatment. I had a torn rotator cuff as well. It had to be surgically repaired. My son, who is now 15, has several thousand dollars in med bills as well. The insurance company has offered me 100,000 total, which after required payments will net me pmnt of 87,000. After payment of med bills it will leave me with 12-15000 for p&s. This does not include any offer for my son. I am wondering if this is all that I can collect or is there something else I can do. I would be willing to settle this entire claim at one time for myself, my wife's loss, and my son for 250,000 plus medical. Is this realistic and can I get them to pay? The other driver's limits are 100/300. We are both Nationwide customers if that makes any difference.


