Ohio  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
2/04/10, 10:02 pm

Legal Question


My mom who is 81 was in a very bad car accident in June 2009. She broke both legs and her arm. She has not had any health problem were she had been taking any medications on a daily basis. While in the hospital we were informed that she had a hiatal hernia which had nothing to do with the car accident. They determined she had this for a while. They had to insert a feeding tube which in ICU. After spending a couple months recovering in the nursing home and not using the feeding tube for a couple of months they sent her back to the hospital to have the tube removed before releasing her to come home. When she went back to the hospital to have the tube removed two student doctors attempted to pull this tube out several times and failed, they went a got their boss and he was able to pull the tube out. After coming home she starting getting sick and we took her to the hospital close to her house and found out that her stomach had been moved. She now is on acid reflux medicine and will be for the rest of her life, because the specialist doesn't want to do a sugery due to her age. I think her stomach was moved when the student doctors were pulling on the tube. The specialist said they shouldn't have tryed to remove the tube with out doing on ultrasound to see the postion of the tube. I would like to know if the hospital can be held responible for what has happened?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search