Ohio | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
, this nOn May 22 of this year I slipped and fell at work. I lacerated my middle finger on my right hand. I had numbness too the finger tip. At the e.r. I told several nurses that while my pain was minimal I had decreased sensation and numbness to the end of my finger. When the time came to have the laceration sutured, I once again explained my concern. At that time I was sutured (4 stitches) and sent back to work. An appointment was set up with the hospitals occupational therapy department and after a month of visits ( 4 appointments non over 6 min) it was decided that I should see a specialist. A month after the injury it was determined that I had lacerated the nerve ( hard not to be sarcastic here) and I under went surgery to fix that with the hope of a minimal recover due to the fact that a month had gone by. Since that time I am still struggling at work. I manage a QS restaurant and gloves are mandatory. I can not straighten my finger enough to allow the finger of the glove to pass over. I am still in pain, although it is less now. I am still in OT but with little positive results. I am also an artist ( a good one!) and a crafter ( knitting and crocheting), this injury has made these thing almost unbearable. Now I know that "these things happen", and there are "people far worse" than me, and "it could have been my arm or my leg"' but this is causing an ongoing hardship in my employment and my home life. If the nerve had been repaired on the day of injury my chances of recovery would have been much higher, this much is fact. Now my question is can I hold the hospital responsible for the quality of care? In spite of my direct complaints that day (May 22 2009) I was never even seen by a doctor! And then I was shuffled from one appointment to the next, with no physical therapy done, for a month before anyone would take my complaint seriously. I have since change doctors and am now going to a different place for the OT. But the damage has been done.


