Ohio  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/16/09, 6:00 pm

Legal Question


My landlord entered my townhouse during my active lease and removed my property. He claims the items were disposed of, but the items were valuable golf clubs, laptop computer, antique flatware, and personal items including photo albums, baby books, and video tapes. There were tables, exercise equipment, clothes, and the list goes on. They (the rental property owners) have admitted to their wrong doing. Can I sue them? Their insurance company has denied the claim.


question bubble
11/22/09, 6:51 pm

Legal Answer


If someone has taken your property without your permission, you can bring a lawsuit to recover the property (if it still is in the person's possession) or to recover the fair market value of the property. If it is the landlord's insurance company denied the claim, it was probably because the taking of the property was an intentional act which are not covered by insurance policies. Do you have renter's insurance? If so, you can make a claim under your policy.

Melissa Lipchak

Melissa R. Lipchak, Attorney at Law 7544 Slate Ridge Blvd. Reynoldsburg, OH 43068

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search