Ohio | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Water Problems in Basement
We sold our house our self in Ohio in August 1998. Then we moved to Florida. The new owner says shortly after moving in there was water problems in the basement. When he looked at the house, before he said he would buy the house. I told him the only time we had problem with water was back in 1984 when the water line broke coming into the basement at the
water meter and we had 3-4 inches of water. Other than that we haven't had any problems. He said that was OK, no problem. We signed a property disclosure form stating we didn't have any problems with the home. He hired a company that repaired a crack in the basement wall and they told him that the problem had been ongoing for some time because the wood behind the paneling was rotten and that we knew about it. I told his Lawyer that we didn't know and 2 years before selling, Why would I put wall to wall carpet down there if I knew of a problem. He is wanting us to paid for his Lawyer fees, $11,000 for fixing the basement, and punitive damages in the amount in excess of $25,000. We lived there 19 years and never had any problems. The house is aprox. 40-45 years old. Are we liable for this?


