Ohio  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/13/09, 9:29 am

Legal Question


My grandfather recently passed away and his wife (grandmother) isn't on the deed. Will she be able to claim the estate or does she loses the property altogether which the bank can take it back?


question bubble
11/18/09, 11:34 am

Legal Answer


Your grandmother would have to open a probate estate to get the house transfered to her and will have to talk to the bank to assume the mortgage, if she is not already on the mortgage. If not, she can sell the house in the estate and pay off the mortgage. Any other property left in her husband's name alone, will have to also be probated. Anything that is held jointly or has a beneficiary designated will not. If you have further questions or need assistance, please contact me at http://www.socrateslegal.com .

Christine Socrates

Christine Sabio Socrates, Attorney at Law 2000 Auburn Dr., Suite 200 Beachwood, OH 44122

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search