Ohio | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My mother just died and my sister is the executrix. Do I have a right to see how she is handling the money from my mother's bank accounts? We have a valid will, but my sister will not share any information on how she is disbursing the monies. What rights do I have to demand an accounting?
Legal Answer
An executor must file certain documents with the court. The first is an inventory of all of the estate assets which must be filed within 3 months of her appointment as executor. The other document is an account which needs to be filed within 6 months of appointment unless an extension is granted. The account will include detailed information regarding the disbursemetns of the estate.
If you disagree with either of these documents you may file exceptions and require a hearing.
You should consult with an attorney who can help you address your concerns.
Elizabeth S. Schmitz Attorney at Law 1900 Polaris Parkway Suite 450 Columbus, OH 43240
► Other answers from this attorney

