Ohio  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/13/09, 10:59 am

Legal Question


My neice committed a crime - hired someone to murder my sister-in-law. The neice is the sole beneficiary of the estate. Does this crime(she is going on trial soon) void out her status as a beneficiary? Then who inherits the estate. My sister in law has a brother and I am a brother in law. My sister in law was a widow for the past 6 yrs. and did not remarry. So do I have an interest in the estate if the will is voided. There are no other relatives.


question bubble
11/18/09, 11:28 am

Legal Answer


A murderer cannot benefit from the death of the victim. All the property of your sister in law will pass as though your niece predeceased her. If she is the sole beneficiary, the estate will pass as though she is no longer living. If she has no other beneficiaries listed in her will, it will pass under the statute which means her brother, or other siblings would inherit if she has no spouse or children. A brother in law is not considered an heir under the law, although if your wife is a sibling, she would be.

Christine Socrates

Christine Sabio Socrates, Attorney at Law 2000 Auburn Dr., Suite 200 Beachwood, OH 44122

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search