Oklahoma  |  Education Law

question bubble
2/24/09, 10:56 pm

Legal Question


Disclose student information in deposition

If I am being deposed by an attorney for someone suing a school I previously worked for and I am not a party in the suit, what are my obligations with regard to student privacy. If I am asked a question that would disclose information about a former student that I learned in my role as a teacher, should I refuse to answer and if so, how should I respond? I don't expect any such questions, but I've never been involved in a deposition and want to make sure I protect myself.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search