Oklahoma  |  Native American Law

question bubble
5/06/08, 11:09 am

Legal Question


tribal member adoption

If a tribal member adopts a child is the child elgible to be added to the rolls as well?


question bubble
5/06/08, 11:43 am

Legal Answer


Re: tribal member adoption

Tribal membership is solely determined by the rules of the tribe and not Oklahoma law. Many tribes require 1/3 blood for eligibility, and some more than that, 1/2 or 2/3. Non-Native American children adopted by tribal members, or children of mixed blood who do not meet the minimum blood requirements for tribal membership, are usually not eligible for enrollment or benefits. You should CHECK!!! with your tribal administrator or at tribal headquarters to ascertain the requirements for enrollment in your tribe.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC PO Bx 984 Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search