Oregon  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 8:45 pm

Legal Question


I purchased a cell phone from Verizon. On that day, November 7, I was quoted a price, charged that price on my credit card, and reassured my current monthly charges would remain the same. When it arrived and I tried to activate the phone, I was told I could not because effective November 8 (1 day after my purchase) this phone requires a $9.99/month minimum data package. I had transferred all my data and have been told there is no recourse other than purchasing the plan or sending back the phone. In the meantime, my contacts and messages have been deleted from the old phone. This seems illegal, at the very least a scam. Any ideas?


question bubble
11/19/09, 4:23 am

Legal Answer


There is virtually no government regulation in this field. And the cost to you of suing Verizon and probably losing is not justified by your inconvenience. And you almost certainly could not prove that any promises were made to you about your charges remaining the same.

I would take the new phone back to Verizon, ask them to transfer your contacts and messages back to your old phone, give back the new phone and get a refund for it. Then try a different cell phone company.

Daniel Meek

Daniel W. Meek Eugene, OR 97219

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search