Oregon | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
i just got sued by a debt collector. i don't want to go to court. what are my rights? i don't mind paying what i owe but i can't afford all the fees too. i just want to make sure they're not taking advantage of me.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Parker |
Unfortunately you're already "in court". The debt collector has filed a civil action against you that you need to respond to. If you don't respond then a default judgment will be entered against you for the total amount that the debt collector is seeking. If you owe the debt and the debt collector hasn't waited too long to file suit against you then you should probably contact the attorney for the debt collector. You should consider asking that the amount of the judgment be "stipulated". In other words, that you agree to an amount that is owed. If you can't pay that amount right now (or very soon in the future) then the judgment would be entered without a further increase in fees. Sometimes, debt collectors will settle for a smaller amount from the debtor (you) if you agree to pay that amount immediately.
Unfortunately, you don't have many good choices now that the debt collector has filed suit.
Good Luck. |
Top Attorneys in OR
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Svitek Law Group, LLC
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-02-22
Law Office of Noel Snyder
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-06-11
Gresham Family & Bankruptcy Law
Gresham, OR
Questions Answered: 40
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-08
Steven Parker Law Office
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-22
Wolfe Law Group, LLC
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-15
Case & Dusterhoff, LLP
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-22
David C. Clarke, Attorney at Law
Tualatin, OR
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Baxter & Baxter, LLP
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-27
Search Questions and Answers


