Oregon  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 8:19 pm

Legal Question


I want to move to North Carolina with my daughter, we live in Oregon currently. I and her father have never been married and we have no custody or visitation rights set in place. Do I have the right to move to Oregon with my daughter.


question bubble
11/18/09, 2:56 am

Legal Answer


YES, you have the right to move from Oregon and relocate to North Caroliana (or any other state, for that matter).

Assuming you and your child's father have never been married to one another, and further assuming that his "legal" paternity of your child has never been established through one of the methods provided by law for doing so, then as a matter of law your child has only one parent: You. (It is the same as if he were dead or otherwise non-existent.)

LAWRENCE D. GORIN

http://ldgorin.justia.net/index.html

Law Offices of L.D. Gorin

521 S.W. Clay St., Suite 205

Portland, Oregon 97201

Telephone: 503.224.8884

Fax: 503.226.1321

E-mail: LDGorin@pcez.com

Lawrence D. Gorin, Atty.

Law Offices of Lawrence Gorin
6700 S.W. 105th Ave., Suite 320
Beaverton, OR 97008

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search