Oregon | Family Law
Legal Question
If a woman is married and not living with her husband but has another man's baby does that baby legally belong to the husband or to the biological father?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence D. Gorin, Atty. |
The baby belongs to the mother. The man to whom the mother was married at the time of the child's is deemed and legally presumed to be the child's father, even if they were not living together at the time of the child's birth and even if the husband is really not the child's biological father. This is what the law calls "the marital presumption of patenrity." As a matter of law, husband remains the child's "legal" father until and unless his presumed legal paternity of the child is disestablished by a court proceeding that results or declares his nonpaternity of the child. BUT.... even though the husband is the child's legal father, the baby BELONGS to the mother and not to either her husband nor her boyfriend.
|
Top Attorneys in OR
Law Offices of Lawrence Gorin
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 824
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Office of Noel Snyder
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-06-11
Stephens Margolin, P.C.
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-07
Gresham Family & Bankruptcy Law
Gresham, OR
Questions Answered: 40
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-08
Proctor & Popia, LLC
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-27
Case & Dusterhoff, LLP
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-22
David C. Clarke, Attorney at Law
Tualatin, OR
Questions Answered: 18
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Proctor Law, PC
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 15
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Search Questions and Answers


