Oregon  |  Federal Tort Claims

question bubble
5/04/09, 12:29 am

Legal Question


tort claim

I was rear ended by a person driving an US Goverment vehicle (it was leased to the VA). The traffic was practically at a stand still, it seems that the driver confused his break with his gas because he came at me quite fast. I am 9 months pregnant. The car has significant damage but so far the baby and I are fine. I was told I need to submit a tort claim in order to get money to pay for my car repairs. I was also told that the goverment reserves up to 6 months to investigate the case. I have the option of filing the claim through my own insurance but then I might have to pay the deductible. Is it worth going through the tort case? Will my car sit in the shop for up to six months? Any advice on how the tort claims are handled and what I need to do?

I live in WA but the accident happened in OR.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search