Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Oregon

A couple, together for a decade, has always rode in a vehicle owned/driven by #2. #1 doesn't have a drivers license but decides that he wants an upgrade to a better vehicle. The couple purchase the vehicle, with #1 providing the $ [owing another $150] and #2 signing the bill of sale with the understanding that #2 will be the driver. # 2 sells her vehicle since she can't afford the cost of 2 vehicles. #1 decides to drive, one day, and wreaks the car w/o having finished paying it off [no title], w/o insurance or a license. #2 now has no means of transportation. #2 moves out due to DV. The vehicle sits for a year until #1 can afford to partially repair the damage. During that time #1 and #2 re establish a tentative relationship. Then #1 dies w/o will or other assets. The family of #1 swoops in and takes everything of value [regardless that #2 has provided most of the items] and the vehicle. The vehicle sits w/o current tags, w/o a title and in front of family members rented dwelling.

Who owns the vehicle?

Asked on 9/15/13, 7:58 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Meek Daniel W. Meek
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The owner is the person whose name is on the title.

Read more
9/16/13, 2:02 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Oregon

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8785 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

General Civil Litigation Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now