pay after getting fired
I was fired from my job for no good reason.Is there a time limit on them getting my check to me?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: pay after getting fired
An Oregon employer is required to make payment of final wages to a terminated employee by the end of the next business day after termination. Other time periods apply when an employee quits (5 days or the next regular pay day, whichever is first). If the employer fails to pay on time, the employee becomes entitled to penalty wages. It is almost always useful to get a lawyer for this kind of claim.
The above does not constitute legal opinion and is offered for the purposes of discussion only. The law differs in every jurisdiction, and you should not rely on any opinion except that of an attorney you have retained, who has a professional duty to advise you after being fully informed of all the pertinent facts and who is familiar with the applicable law.
Related Questions & Answers
Auto insurance Is it legal for an employer to demand a copy of your personal auto... Asked 4/22/04, 2:45 pm in United States Oregon Labor and Employment Law
Age discrimination? I,ve been employed for 10 months with this company, aprox. 3... Asked 3/16/04, 8:41 am in United States Oregon Labor and Employment Law
Who pays for counterfeit bills I work at a restaurant and received payment with a... Asked 2/10/04, 7:12 pm in United States Oregon Labor and Employment Law
Giving Notice to Employer Per Contract I work for a sole proprietorship, have worked... Asked 1/13/04, 2:11 pm in United States Oregon Labor and Employment Law
Withheld money In my final paycheck after resigning my position, my employer... Asked 1/10/04, 11:48 pm in United States Oregon Labor and Employment Law