Oregon  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
9/28/09, 11:44 pm

Legal Question


My former landlord never repaid my deposits, so I took them to Small Claims court and won (two times the unpaid deposit). They still haven't paid the money they owe. I filed a garnishment of their bank account (I knew their bank from my canceled rent checks), but they had since closed that bank account so that was a dead end. They live in California, so it is difficult for me to learn about their current jobs, thus I am unable to file a form garnishing their wages since I don't know where to send it.

Is there a way I could garnish the rent being paid to them by the current tenants (assuming there still are any)? Are there any other recommended options I can use to try and get back the money they owe? They have stolen a few thousand dollars from me, and I would appreciate any help I can get in recovering it.

Thanks in advance for any help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search