Oregon | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My father is in the process of creating a last will and testament. He's unhappily married and would like his estate to go to my brother and I. What steps must he take to ensure his will will be honored and that his wife will not receive his estate?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence D. Gorin, Atty. |
Tough situation. Under Oregon law, a surviving spouse has the absolute legal right to "elect" to take the inheritance share as provided to her in her husband’s will OR twenty-five percent (25%) of the estate (regardless of what the will says).
So if the husband’s will says wife gets nothing, she would most likely exercise her legal right to take the “surviving spouse’s elective share,” which is 25% of the estate.
Conversely, if the husband’s will says the wife gets MORE than 25% (or perhaps 100%), she would of course elect to take pursuant to the will, rather than the 25% elective share.
However, the “elective share” law can be avoided IF --- and only if --- the wife voluntarily signs a written agreement “waiving” her right to claim the elective share.
ORS 114.105. If a decedent is domiciled in this state at the time of death and dies testate, the surviving spouse of the decedent has a right to elect to take the share provided by this section. The elective share consists of one-fourth of the value of the net estate of the decedent.
ORS 114.115. The right of the surviving spouse to elect under ORS 114.105 may be barred by the terms of a written agreement signed by both spouses. The agreement may be entered into before or after marriage.
=================== LAWRENCE D. GORIN http://ldgorin.justia.net/index.html Law Offices of L.D. Gorin 521 S.W. Clay St., Suite 205 Portland, Oregon 97201 Telephone: 503.224.8884 Fax: 503.226.1321
E-mail: LDGorin@pcez.com
|
Top Attorneys in OR
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Svitek Law Group, LLC
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 104
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-02-22
Aiken, St. Louis & Siljeg, P.S.
Seattle, WA
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Law Office of Noel Snyder
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-06-11
Gresham Family & Bankruptcy Law
Gresham, OR
Questions Answered: 40
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-08
Happe Reid, PC
Fair Oaks, CA
Questions Answered: 38
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Steven Parker Law Office
Portland, OR
Questions Answered: 34
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-22
Proctor & Popia, LLC
Beaverton, OR
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-27
Law Office of Aaron M. Davis
Novato, CA
Questions Answered: 29
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-27
Search Questions and Answers


