Oregon  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
11/02/09, 3:33 pm

Legal Question


Have pro bono client (I am financial planner) whose husband died in Oregon June 2008. Died intestate. She now lives in Missouri. Never filed any estate paperwork there, but became aware of small SAIC 401k distributions made to husband well before his death, which were never cashed (betting they were involuntary cash-out of 401k plan.) Vanguard, the administrator, will only re-issue checks in husband's name, SAIC (company he worked for) says once issued in his name they can't change. Vanguard says they'd need letters testamentary to issue in estate's name, local bank agrees they could deposit a check to his estate in an estate account with letters testamentary and probate papers. Missouri probate office refers to Oregon. State of OR wants intestate version of affidavit of claiming successor/small estate. Where can I find this document, and is it even necessary for surviving spouse? Is there also a way she can get a waiver of the court costs? She is in need of the funds, although they do not total much, it would help her get by for awhile. Some help please, this is way outside a financial planner's area...thanks. Please email if you need more info.

Brant Donis

Landmark Financial Planning

A Fee-only planner


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search