Oregon | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My sister died after a six month illness. She left $500 in the bank and they want her son to bring in an affidavit of small estate before they will close the account and give him the money. There are no other assets and 2 outstanding credit cards so we are not filing a small estate. The bank knows this but wants him to fill out an affidavit so they can keep it for their records showing where the money went. Is there any other way that this can be done? I'm not sure about her heir giving the bank an affidavit that is not going to go anywhere else. Please let me know.


