Pennsylvania | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Designer of Monument accused of Forgery
My husband designed a memorial monument for a society. It was his own idea & inspiration to do this freely. He used elements in the public domain, i.e. an obelisk, an eagle, an outline of a map and an ancient religious image. The project took several years to complete & he consulted with the society every step of the way for their approval.
When the design was completed another member, his co-chairman in the project took the plans to have the monument carved. From that day on there has been turmoil. He will not allow my husband to sign the monument as the desiger. He accuses my husband of forgery. He has openly occused him of this in front of other society members. He has written him a defamatory letter on society letterhead, and using the society seal. My husband has explained that he is not the inventor of these elements, merely the designer who created this unique composite of Pontian culture to be given freely to the society for the greater good. His name and reputation has been trashed. He has been excluded from meetings and from the committee in which he served. He is utterly devasted. His work and efforts have been stolen. The unveiling will be on Sept. 10, 2006. Is this a case of slander/libel? Please help.


