Pennsylvania | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
What type of claim is best?
Some time ago, I had a company that supplied a very large client with goods and services throughout the years without written contracts. It had to be done this way alot of times for benefit of the client. Through their agent, the client asked us for a huge job. They wanted their widget redesigned, repurposed, engineered and a new look. With over 3 months of dedicated work and close to half a million dollars in costs, the new widget was ready and the agent of the client really liked it. At this time, the two salespeople working for me quit and started their own company. The client ceased all communication with us and gave the new company this work. All the design and such was completed and the new company made and installed the new widgets for the client. It was very blatant and aside from the half million dollars, my company could not handle this loss and had to close doors sometime later. Value of company was $3million. Personally, I was harmed as well as the mental problems this caused turned to physical problems.I thought that breach of implied contract would be best, as far as damages but can I get punative damages since the client is still benefiting and using our exact widgets?there is also misappropriation of a trade secret


